Feature and Follow Friday – 3/21/14

FF_2013Button

Feature and Follow Friday is a weekly blog hop hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read.  The idea of this blog hop is for bloggers to have an opportunity to make new friends and gain new followers.  I follow you and you follow me.

Question of the week:  How have your reading habits changed in the past few years?  Did you get interested in a new genre?  Do you read more?  Less?  Why do you think your habits have changed, if they did?

I’m not sure about just this last year, but my reading habits have changed greatly over the last few years.  At one time I had loved the Jonathan Kellerman/James Patterson type of crime novels.  I would read through them faster than I could buy them.  Then once I became a mom, I couldn’t stomach the murder mysteries anymore.  I think a couple that I had picked up involved young children and I was done.  When the kids were little and I was mostly a stay at home mom, I read a lot of contemporary novels and chick lit.  Once my kids were reading, I would often read books that they were reading so we could discuss them.  This is how I discovered Harry Potter and became enamored with children’s literature.  Now more recently, with teens in the house, I’m reading a lot of young adult fiction, particularly young adult paranormal and fantasy.  Hunger Games and now the Divergent series have been two series my daughter and I have enjoyed together.  I still read a lot of contemporary adult fiction and have recently discovered magical realism through Sarah Addison Allen’s books and absolutely love it.

I don’t get to read as much as I would like.  I now find I have to be very deliberate about making time for reading.  Between homeschooling my children, teaching at our homeschool coop and working part time at church, I have precious little time to engage in my own pleasure reading.

Ebooks have completely changed the way I read as well.  Being able to carry my entire library with me wherever I go has made reading on the go so much easier.  I now find I’m reading and listening to a few books at once!

Make sure to comment so I can follow you too!

bloglovin-300x180

Want to play along?  Here are the rules:

  1. (Required) Follow the Follow My Book Blog Friday Hosts {Parajunkee & Alison Can Read}
  2. (Required) Follow our Featured Bloggers
  3. Put your Blog name & URL in the Linky thing. You can also grab the code if you would like to insert it into your posts.
  4. Grab the button up there and place it in a post, this post is for people to find a place to say “hi” in your comments and that they are now following you.
  5. If you are using WordPress or another CMS that doesn’t have GFC (Google Friends Connect) state in your posts how you would like to be followed
  6. Follow Follow Follow as many as you can, as many as you want, or just follow a few. The whole point is to make new friends and find new blogs. Also, don’t just follow, comment and say hi. Another blogger might not know you are a new follower if you don’t say “HI”
  7. If someone comments and says they are following you, be a dear and follow back. Spread the Love…and the followers

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

42 thoughts on “Feature and Follow Friday – 3/21/14

  1. Great answer to the question 🙂 I agree, e-books are so useful, being able to have it with you so as you can get in some reading whenever life presents that moment of opportunity (which can be very rare at times!) 😀

  2. That’s great that you and your daughter can enjoy books together. My mom is one of the reasons I’m such an avid reader and I love when we can recommend one another books.
    Happy FF! New Bloglovin Follower.

  3. I read an article once about the “non-negotiables” in your life. Meaning, those things you love doing that you absolutely NEED to do to stay sane. Dedicated reading time is one of those things for me. I read for an hour or so before I go to sleep. It helps me relax and I’m a better person for it. New follower. 🙂
    Jessica @ Tales Between the Pages

  4. I still like to browse thrift shops for paperbacks, but yes, I agree, e-books are just wonderful and my commute to work is not such a big problem any more even if I don’t find a seat, because I’ve got my Kindle which I can just hold in front of my face and that’s it – nothing bothers me any more. Thanks for stopping by, new bloglovin follower:)

  5. Nice! I still tend to be a real book girl. I have a kindle which has become a god-send for those e-ARCs and e-novellas. So it does come in handy! Also for those books that go down to .99 cents and were ones I was somewhat debating over. .99 cents pretty much seals the deal!

    Although for all those were .99 cents I did end up buying the real book version! So I guess that wasn’t really saving money, but oh well!

    Thanks for visiting and following my blog! Following you now too! (Bloglovin and email)

    Have a GREAT weekend!

    NEW Follower 😀

  6. Ebooks completely changed how I read too. I love that I can get a book from the library at any time you just need to download it. Thanks for dropping by my F&F I followed you via bloglovin =)

  7. I totally forgot to include my audio book experience! ^_^ I’ve only listened to two books, both historical romance (I just love listening to the British accent!), but enjoyed them immensely. Thanks for sharing and for the follow. Following you back via Bloglovin 🙂

Leave a comment