Armchair BEA – More than just words

ArmchairBEA LogoExampleI love listening to books read aloud. My children and I would read books aloud long past the age when they could read to themselves. There is something about listening to a book read aloud (and read well) that changes the experience of the story. The first audiobook I listened to was the Harry Potter series read by Jim Dale.  We are not the “dvd player in the minivan” kind of family, so a long roadtrip had me scrambling for a way to entertain the kids when a girlfriend of mine lent me her audiobooks of Harry Potter.  The kids loved it; I loved it; even my husband enjoyed it.  Since then I have always had an audiobook to listen to.  I listen to them while I’m in the car, during my morning walks, while I’m cooking or doing housework….

Understandably so, audiobooks are a bit more expensive than print books.  They are certainly not in my book budget.  I have found two wonderful sources for audiobooks.  The first is my library.  I get most of my audiobooks from my library’s digital downloads.  I download them directly to my phone and I get three weeks with them before they are returned…on their own….no fines!  Love it.  Also, another source we just found are a couple of android apps:  audiobooks and librivox.  Both apps have tons of free audiobooks including many, many classics.   Happy listening!

 

7 thoughts on “Armchair BEA – More than just words

  1. I’m a huge fan of audiobooks as well. i have one on my phone and one for my carpool. They’re a great way to relax after a stressful day of work. Happy listening!

  2. That’s a fantastic idea! I’ve always loved long car rides and since I joined up with two other bloggers I’ve been going to conventions far away from where we live. An audiobook would be an excellent way to pass the time, especially if the author of the book is going to be there!

  3. I thoroughly enjoy reading books out loud – to my little one – however I don’t think audiobooks are for me as I don’t fully take in a story when its being read out loud to me. I wish I did though because I see the many benefits of audiobooks, I just can’t reap those benefits!

    🙂

Leave a Reply

