Top Ten Series I Started but Haven’t Finished Yet.

toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.  This week is a freebie.  Looking at my bookshelves and TBR list I realize that I have a number of series on my shelves that I have started but haven’t finished for one reason or another.  Some I lost interest in and probably won’t finish.  Others I have every intention of finishing but there are just so many good books to read and I haven’t gotten to yet.  Then there are the few that I am actively reading now.

 

Series I probably won’t finish

Marked

 

The House of Night Series by P.C. Cast and Kristen Cast – I read a huge part of this series but it is huge!  The books just kept coming.  I really enjoyed the series in the beginning but have lost interest.  I may pick it up again at some point but right now I think it will remain unfinished.

fallen

Fallen by Lauren Kate.  This is another series I lost interest in.  I read Fallen a couple years ago but haven’t continued with the series.

matched

Matched by Ally Condie.  I really enjoyed Matched but struggled to get into Crossed.  I only got about half way through.

Series I’ve started and want to finish.  

beautiful creatures

The Caster Chronicles by Kami Garcia – I’ve read the first two of this series and I really enjoy them.

delirium

The Delirium Series by Lauren Oliver – I’ve read the first two in this series as well and really enjoyed them.

city of bone

The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare.  This is another one that I started forever ago.  I read City of Bones so long ago.  I loved it and have no idea why I haven’t continued with it.  I need to finish this one and then move onto The Infernal Devices Series

Divergent

The Divergent Series by Veronica Roth – I loved this book.  I started on the second book Insurgent a while back but my daughter stole it from me.  She has recently finished and given it back so I am going to have to add this back into my TBR list.

Series I am currently reading

the raven boys

The Raven Cycle  by Maggie Stiefvater – I’m actually listening to this one on audio.

cinder

The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer – I finished Cinder and have started on Scarlet .  I actually passed Cinder on to my daughter and she is enjoying it as well.

smoke and bone

Daughter of Smoke and Bone Series byLaini Taylor.

 

20 thoughts on “Top Ten Series I Started but Haven’t Finished Yet.

  1. I can’t manage to finish the Matched series either. Like you, I enjoyed the first book, but I found it completely impossible to get through the next. I am glad you are carrying on with the Divergent series and not letting the drama over the final book in the series affect your decision to continue or not! 🙂 Great list!

  2. I definitely won’t be finishing Matched. I loved the book when I first read it but then when it came to buying a sequel or a new book, I always went for a new book!

    Like you, I really enjoyed the House of Night Series. I will finish it one day, just not any time in the immediate future!

    Thanks for sharing & great list! 😀

    Alex @ The Shelf Diaries

  3. I read the first book in the House of night series several years ago and I thought it was okay, but still just never got a round the the next two books I have setting on my shelf, so not sure if I will or not. I so need to finish the Caster series, especially now that there is a spin off! 🙂

  4. I’m actually currently reading Scarlet too (and liking it a lot more than Cinder)! While I have read the whole The Infernal Devices series, I’ve never read any of The Mortal Instruments books. At least The Infernal Devices was a prequel of sorts so I didn’t need to read The Mortal Instruments to understand who these people were.
    My TTT

  5. You’re not missing anything by not finishing the Fallen series. The last two books especially were Awful. The Matched series had a disappointing ending, as well. I do love The Raven Boys and the Lunar Chronicles, though!

  6. I read City of Bones and City of Ashes, and the books just keep getting better and better. I really look forward to continuing on. Also, Cinder was excellent, but I never bothered to pick up the next two even though I hear a ton of people talking about how great it is. I guess I should get on that. 😛

  7. Sometimes I come across a series that’s fallen through the cracks, and wonder what happened. I wish Goodreads had a way to tell me–you’ve read book one of a series, but not the rest! Fix this, ASAP! But, you know, so many books, so little time…

Leave a Reply

