Feature and Follow – April 10, 2014

FF_2013ButtonFeature and Follow Friday is a weekly blog hop hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read.  The idea of this blog hop is for bloggers to have an opportunity to make new friends and gain new followers.  I follow you and you follow me.  Fun!  

Tell us about a book you didn’t like and why we shouldn’t read it (as nicely and respectfully as possible.)

I love to read and it is a very rare day indeed that I can’t find something redeeming in a book.  While I decided the day I completed graduate school that I would never again finish a book I didn’t like, I finish almost everything I set out to read.  Its a great thing to be able to choose for myself what books I will read and what books I don’t.  As a matter of fact, there is only ONE book I can think of that I didn’t finish because I found nothing that I liked about it, and it was The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling.

casual vacancy

 

I feel like I have  to say that I did not go into this book expecting Harry Potter for grown ups.  But I did expect to find at least one character that I liked.  Just one would have kept me reading until the end.  However, I made it almost half way through and she was still introducing new characters and I still hadn’t found one I liked!  Not one!  For me, this is the death of a book.  If there isn’t at least one character I care about what is the point in finishing?  Really?

I would hate to say, “DON’T READ IT!”   But it certainly wasn’t my cup of tea.

Want to play along?  Here are the rules:

  1. (Required) Follow the Follow My Book Blog Friday Hosts {Parajunkee & Alison Can Read}
  2. (Required) Follow our Featured Bloggers
  3. Put your Blog name & URL in the Linky thing. You can also grab the code if you would like to insert it into your posts.
  4. Grab the button up there and place it in a post, this post is for people to find a place to say “hi” in your comments and that they are now following you.
  5. If you are using WordPress or another CMS that doesn’t have GFC (Google Friends Connect) state in your posts how you would like to be followed
  6. Follow Follow Follow as many as you can, as many as you want, or just follow a few. The whole point is to make new friends and find new blogs. Also, don’t just follow, comment and say hi. Another blogger might not know you are a new follower if you don’t say “HI”
  7. If someone comments and says they are following you, be a dear and follow back. Spread the Love…and the followers

Be sure to let me know you are a new follower, so I can follow you too!  Also I would love to connect with you on twitter!

bloglovin-300x180

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

25 thoughts on “Feature and Follow – April 10, 2014

    • I really tried to clear all my expectations. And as I was reading I would think, “If I didn’t know this author would I still dislike (aka hate) it?” and I realized, “Yes, I would.” That’s when I stopped reading.

  1. Oh, dear. I still plan on trying that book, but I’m going to be approaching it warily.
    Thanks for stopping by my FF post. I’m following back via Bloglovin’. Happy Friday!

    • Hey, go for it. We all can’t like the same books! I know people have loved it. It just wasn’t for me, that’s for sure! And the worst that could happen is that you don’t like it and don’t finish it. Thanks for the follow!

  2. I remember hearing some dislike towards this one. I never read it myself. I had planned to, but then I was reading reviews that weren’t very pleasing. It’s not that I was expecting Harry for adults either, but I was hoping for that capturing features she had with her children books. But apparently, that wasn’t the case. So I steered clear of it.
    Here’s my Follow Friday
    Have a GREAT day!
    Old Follower 🙂

  3. I had similar, but not as strong feelings on ‘The Casual Vacancy.’ I like Crystal and Andrew (I think that was the skinny kid with the hopeless crush) and I think that helped, but I agree that Rowling introduced far too many characters and focused on the unlikable things they did. The ending was semi-redeemable, but I’m not sure it was worth the wait.

  4. I’ve yet to read this one. I was (am?) a huge HP fangirl, but there’s something so off putting about reading this book to me. It seems boring right down to the cover. And what you’ve said only reinforces that thought. Maybe one day I’ll push through it. Maybe.

    Thanks for stopping by My FF! Old follower.

  5. It’s so disappointing to see not many people like “The Casual Vacancy.” I still have yet to read her other book, “The Cuckoo’s Calling,” but I’ve heard great things about that book.
    New GFC follower!
    Here’s my FF

  6. I intentially skipped this when it was my book club selection because it just didn’t sound like something I would like! New BlogLovin Follower!

Leave a Reply

