Top Ten Tuesday  – My ‘Gateway’ Books. 

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic is:  The Top Ten “Gateway” Books/Authors In My Reading Journey

My childhood (Books that turned me on to reading)

 Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White.  I was given Charlotte’s Web when I was in first grade for Christmas.  I immediately began reading this book to my father, and then my mother, and then anyone who would listen to me.  It was the first book I remember reading ‘by myself’ which probably meant I partner read with the adults in my life.  But I was reading and I was proud!

charlottes web

Judy Bloom’s books  (Tales of a 4th Grade Nothing,  Otherwise Known as Sheila the Great and the rest of the Fudge Books)
fourth grade nothingsheila the great

The Chronicles of Narnia by CS Lewis.  I absolutely loved these book!  I read them over and over and over again.  I wanted to ride Aslan!

narnia

High School and College Years

The Flowers in the Attic  Books by VC Andrews.  I don’t remember what my fascination was with this books but I read them all.

flowers attic

Stephen King    I loved reading pretty much anything he wrote but I think Pet Sematary and It were the ones that got me hooked.

it pet sematary

Interview with the Vampire by Anne Rice.  I got into these books in College and loved them.  Although once Lestat became a rock star, I kinda lost interest.  Rock star?  Really?

interview with the vampire

As an adult:  (Books that turned me on to different genres)

Harry Potter Series by JK Rowlings.  This was my first trip back into reading children/young adult books.  My kids were still too little for them when I started the series but I really enjoyed them.  I discovered magic and fantasy were fun reads as well.

Harry Potter

The Twilight series by Stephanie Meyers  Say what you will about this series, but I really enjoyed it.  It was my next step into YA Fantasy.

twilight

The Giver  by Lois Lowry and The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins were the books that got me interested in reading Dystopian Fiction.

giverHunger games

Garden Spell by Sarah Addison Allen was my introduction to a genre with in adult fiction called Magical Realism.  I love it and have since read a few books in this category but Sarah Addison Allen has stayed my favorite author in this genre and Garden Spells is my favorite book that she has written.

garden splls

 

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday  – My ‘Gateway’ Books. 

  1. I loved the Judy Blume books as a child. When I got older and read her adult books, I did not care for them. But, I’ll probably always love her kids books. (Since you listed her, I am curious if you also liked Beverly Cleary’s books.)
    Loved *Charlotte’s Web*, too. It was my favorite book in Elementary school.

  2. Charlotte’s Web is such a wonderful book–I’ve been meaning to reread it myself.
    I never did read the Twilight series, but I am definitely a HP fan.

  3. The Giver is a book I have on my wishlist – I hope to borrow it from my library some time soon so it was good to see it on your list. It kind of reaffirms that I won’t be disappointed by that particular book.
    You have some great books on your list this week.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

