It’s Monday, What are you reading?

its monday

its monday kids

As I go about learning this blogging thing, I thought I might take part in a couple memes that I keep seeing everywhere.  These may change as I figure out what works for me, but for today:  It’s Monday, What are you reading.  This is a weekly meme hosted by BookJourney and for the meme for Children’s books is hosted by Teach Mentor Texts.

Finished Last Week

before I fall

Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver.  I had mixed feelings on this one.  However, the topic of bullying is a tough one to tackle and I thought Oliver did a great job.  And I enjoy her writing.  My review is here.

Other Reviews this Week

the graveyard book

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman.  I loved this one.  I thought it was a fabulous read.  I loved the characters and the magic and whimsy mixed into the macabre and creepy.  Great one to share with your middle schooler and up!

Currently Reading

glass casket

The Glass Casket by McCormick Templeman.  I picked this book up from the library without knowing anything about it because I liked the cover and the title intrigued me.   I’m almost halfway through this book.   It started out slow but has really picked up its pace.  It reminds me of a retelling of Little Red Riding Hood at this point. Planning on curling up with this book later this afternoon.

pandemonium

Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver.  I just started listening to this book yesterday.  I loved Delirium so I am really looking forward to getting into this part of Lena’s story.

Next Up

angel burn

city of ashes

raven boys

We homeschool and all three of my children are avid readers as well.  Here is what they are reading!

Nathan, 15, Freshman

great expectationsThe OdyssyWesley

Madison, 12, 7th Grade

The Hiding PlaceTHe HobbitUnited we spy

Carson, 10, 5th Grade

Dragons gate234033_Sch_OutofDust_2.99_0.tifThe call

5 thoughts on “It’s Monday, What are you reading?

  1. I have The Graveyard Book sitting on my unread shelf. I don’t know how soon I’ll get round to it – there are quite a few books piled up on said shelf – but I am keen to discover Neil Gaiman as it is the first novel I have read by him. I thought it a good place to start as I do enjoy the odd middle grade book from time to time.
    Happy Reading – I hope your children are enjoying their reads too!
    🙂

  2. Looks like lots of good choices there. I haven’t read Neil Gaiman either but will try Stardust by him soon. Hope your reading week is a good one.

  3. You have some pretty great titles here. The Graveyard Book is one of my all-time favourites, although I confess to loving The Ocean at the End of the Lane more. Your kids are reading great titles too. Out of the Dust is such a powerful novel-in-verse, definitely unforgettable for me. I have yet to read Laurence Yep’s series. Hopefully, this year. 🙂

    • My 10 year old and I are reading Out of the Dust aloud (as poetry should be read!) and I am certainly enjoying it much more than he (or at least more than he will admit to). We are both really enjoying the Laurence Yep book. Very much worth reading.

Leave a Reply

